Wayanad Assembly Elections

Swing Meter:



Indian National Congress has won two thirds of all elections in Wayanad since 1982, but in recent times all three assembly constituencies in the district are in play with LDF winning Mananthavady, Sulthanbathery and Kalpetta in 2006. Median margin in Mananthavady and Kalpetta are above 10% which is above average and shows clear waves and swings.


Constituencies and Swing in Wayanad:

Constituencies are  Kalpetta, Mananthavady and Sulthanbathery.

Trends and Margins
Const. Swing Margin
Mananthavady SWING 10.3
Sulthanbathery SWING 4.8
Kalpetta UDF 14.4


Indian National Congress has won 14 of 21 seats since 1982, with socialists winning 4 and Communist Party Marxist a winning 3.

Parties of influence in Wayanad:
Party Wins
Party Since 1982 2011
INC 14 2
CPM 3 0
JAN 1 0
JANG 1 0
JDS 1 0
SJD 1 1
TOTAL 21 3


No Comments Yet

Comments are closed